top of page

Microwave Chocolate Cake (GF, Vegan)

Updated: Apr 14, 2020

This is not your average cake. When I made this, I was shocked how cake-like it turned out, I expected it to be dense and have a different texture, but it looked and tasted like any delicious chocolate sponge.

It is springy and moist - everything you expect from a 'normal' cake.


I decided to make my go-to mug cake recipe (I'll post this later) but since I was bored, I decided to experiment and replace the self raising flour with oat flour. Oat flour is very easy to make, just blitz oats in blender to fine powder in a matter of minutes. However, oat flour does not rise as well as normal flour so I doubled the baking soda and it turned out perfect!


The great thing about this cake is that you can have it for breakfast and it isn't too indulgent. It's a solid, healthy breakfast packed with vitamins, minerals and lots of fibre and protein. (As long as you don't overdo the toppings). If anything, this recipe is basically chocolate oatmeal that has risen to the occasion! (Pun intended ofc :P )

Yay for cake for breakfast!


The recipe serves one if you are having it for breakfast. However, if you are eating the cake as a dessert or as a snack, then I recommend halving the recipe!



 


Microwave Chocolate Cake for Breakfast

Gluten free and vegan

Serves 1 ( or 2 as a dessert)

Ingredients

6 tablespoons of oat flour (Blitz oats to a fine powder, then measure afterwards)

4 tablespoons of milk of choice (1/4 cup), I used Alpro coconut milk since it is sweet!

2 teaspoons of melted butter (if you are vegan, make sure this is dairy free)

2 teaspoons of cane sugar

2 teaspoons of unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 - 1 teaspoon of baking powder


Method

1) Add all the ingredients to a medium sized deep bowl, mix well

2) Microwave on high for 40 seconds (I used a 900 watt microwave)

3) Top with fresh fruit, Nutella, icing sugar or any toppings of your choice




(I will be posting a photo soon!)


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page